National Speakers Association
Username Password
Site Map | Contact Us | FAQs
Our Organization Awards & Recognition NSA Foundation NSA History Glossary of Acronyms
Membership Application Information

Awards & Recognition
CPAE Speaker Hall of Fame

Cavett Award

Presidents Award for Distinguished Service

Master of Influence

Lifetime Members

International Ambassador Award

Nido R. Qubein Award for Philanthropy

The Cavett Award

Since it was established in 1973, the National Speakers Association's strength has sprung from its Co-Founder Cavett Robert, CSP, CPAE. His love, encouragement, generosity and wisdom embody the spirit of NSA today and continue to guide the association as it grows in number and diversity.

Humility, generosity and teamwork are just a few of the qualities Cavett possessed, and in fine professional-speaking style, expressed so eloquently. Cavett once said to NSA Past President Jim Cathcart, CSP, CPAE, "You guys have done so much more with this (NSA) than I ever imagined." The truth was that NSA members have simply built upon the legacy that he humbly established for us.

Likewise, Cavett displayed an uncanny ability to inspire others and share his wisdom and expertise. "A desire to help others is our most noble attribute; it gives immortal momentum to life and is our only certain path to heaven," he would say. Hence, the Cavett Award, the highest award bestowed by NSA, was created to celebrate and honor those members whose careers demonstrate the spirit of sharing, guiding and inspiring other professional speakers.

The Cavett Award is NSA's most cherished award. It is presented annually to the member whose accomplishments over the years have reflected outstanding credit, respect, honor and admiration in the Association and the speaking profession, and whose actions (in terms of sharing, guiding and inspiring other members) most closely parallel the illustrious career of our Founder Cavett Robert, CSP, CPAE . Recipients of the Cavett Award are:

Terry Paulson, CSP, CPAE
2004 Cavett Award Recipient

1979 Cavett Robert, CSP, CPAE
1980 William H. Gove, CSP, CPAE
1981 Dave Yoho, CPAE
1982 Ty Boyd, CSP, CPAE
1983 Joe Larson, CSP
1984 Ira M. Hayes, CPAE
1985 Nido R. Qubein, CSP, CPAE
1986 Don Hutson, CSP, CPAE
1987 Doc Blakely, CSP, CPAE
1988 Robert H. Henry, CSP, CPAE
1989 Jeanne Robertson, CSP, CPAE
1990 D. Michael Frank, CSP, CPAE
1991 Rosita Perez, CPAE
1992 D. John Hammond
1993 Jim Cathcart, CSP, CPAE
1994 George Morrisey, CSP, CPAE
1995 Thomas J. Winninger, CSP, CPAE
1996 Patricia Fripp, CSP, CPAE
1997 Naomi R. Rhode, CSP, CPAE
1998 Al Walker, CSP, CPAE
1999 Edward E. Scannell, CSP, CMP
2000 Jim Tunney, EdD, CSP, CPAE
2001 Zig Ziglar, CPAE
2002 Bob Murphey, CPAE
2003 Pat Vivo, CSP, CPAE
2004 Terry Paulson, CSP, CPAE

Home  |   Find A Speaker  |   Knowledge Bank  |   Member Center  |   NSA Meetings  |   Competencies and Certification  |   Chapters and International Groups  |   Join NSA  |   News and Events  |   About NSA  |   Media Center  |   Advertising and Sponsorship | Membership Renewal
2003 National Speakers Association . All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy 1500 S. Priest Dr., Tempe, AZ 85281 | PH: 480.968.2552 | FAX: 480.968.0911